Icknield (Luton)

District website: http://www.lutonscouts.org.uk/

Icknield is one of the two Luton Districts covering the area of Luton between the A6 (New Bedford Road) and Marsh Road.

The District was formed on 24th May 1967 and comprises nine Scout Groups:

  • Blenheim
  • First Luton Sea Scouts
  • Manor
  • St Augustine’s
  • St Joseph’s
  • Sell’s Seventh
  • Sundon Park
  • Warden Hill
  • Wardown Ninth

Two Explorer Units:

  • Riparian Sea Explorers
  • Young Leader

and a Scout Active Support Unit called Icknield Fellowship.

Our badge shows the Biscot Mill (a former Luton landmark), the Icknield Way (being an ancient British trekway, the way of the Iceni), the River Lea (which has its source in the District at Leagrave Marsh), Warden Hills (part of the Chilterns) and a representation of Waulud's Bank (a Saxon settlement) which is almost at the centre of Icknield District.

Every year over 500 young people enjoy new adventures: experiencing the outdoors, interacting with one another, gaining confidence and getting the opportunity to reach their full potential. But it’s not just young people who get in on the action - 100 adult volunteers work alongside our young people in a variety of roles. Together, they deliver exciting, safe, and, most importantly, FUN programmes every night of the week.

Our current growth rate of 14% (the highest in the whole of East Anglia!) in youth membership means we now need more adults to cope with the demand! We’re looking for volunteers to take on a number of roles both within Scout Groups (working directly with young people) and also as part of the District Team which supports adults and young people.

District Commissioner: Libby Bassam

Tel: 0844 414 2967

Email: dc.icknield@hotmail.com

Back to Districts page